Thursday, June 14, 2007

10 Titles In 99 Years For San Lorenzo

Set to celebrate it's 100th anniversary next April, Club Atletico San Lorenzo de Almagro has won the 2007 Argentine Clausura championship. Coach Ramon Diaz led the Buenos Aires side to it's 10th title, and it's first since the 2001 Clausura.

With one round to play, San Lorenzo's victory puts second-place Boca Juniors, who are four points behind, out of reach for the title. Through last weekend's penultimate match, San Lorenzo have won 13, drawn three, and lost just two. They'll hop a bus for the 10 mile journey out of the capital to take on cellar-dweller Quilmes on Sunday. Expect to see a lot of San Lorenzo fans at the match.

Though I'm partial to Boca, I do like to see someone other than than los Xeneizes and River Plate win the title. Don't expect many other surprises in Argentina's top flight, only one team from outside of Buenos Aires and Rosario has ever won the title. That team, Estudiantes de La Plata, won it's forth title last year.

San Lorenzo clinches Argentina title [Slam Sports!]


No comments: